Effective Coaching

November 1 & 3, 2021 • Facilitated virtual learning
For any surplus lines manager who wants to become a more effective leader and strengthen coaching ability to ultimately improve team performance


About the Program

Participants receive customized sales coaching training geared specifically to transacting business in the surplus lines market. With the current restrictions and changes due to COVID-19, Richardson has converted the originally one-day 2021 program into a facilitated virtual learning two-day experience. Any professional who leads a team of professionals responsible for revenue or premium production will benefit from this program.

Coaching and improving the performance of a team is the secret of sales success, and it is the most important job of a sales manager. Effective Coaching participants will work in real-life scenarios, impacting both brokers and underwriters, with role-playing opportunities to develop an approach that helps their team members take responsibility for their success. They will develop an enhanced understanding of the differences between managing and coaching and how to help their team members develop specific, measurable objectives using metrics that assess where performance is compared to those goals.

Learn more about Effective Coaching in the informational program brochure.

Who Should Attend

  • Any surplus lines manager who leads a team of professionals responsible for revenue or premium production and desires to improve the performance of that team.
  • The program is ideal for both WSIA wholesale broker and company member employees.
  • Managers whose team members have completed WSIA's Consultative Selling and Negotiations will find this program of particular interest.

Registration and Fees

  • Registration is $1,095 per participant.
  • Registration will close no later than October 4. 
  • Contact Lindsay Holland, [email protected], with any program questions. 

WSIA Virtual Education Programs Work!

Past participants provide feedback on the virtually-facilitated Effective Coaching program.

“Being on video was like being in the room. I don't feel it inhibited anyone in the larger group or in the breakouts.”
Tina Smith, Concorde General Agency

“While it is nice to have classes face-to-face, I think using Zoom worked perfectly. Being able to go into breakout rooms was just like splitting up into small groups in an in-person class. I’m not sure I would have been able to attend [Effective Coaching] if I had to travel to New York.”
Michael Klimcak, Griffin Underwriting Services

What Alumni Have To Say

Watch a short video to hear what your colleagues have to say about their personal experiences at Effective Coaching.

“Anyone can read a book on coaching – which I have – but role playing and practicing with partners made the content more memorable and realistic to put into practice.  The content is very organized, and you leave prepared to coach right away.” 
Rob Aheart, RT Specialty

“Working through actual real-life situations with the group and the instructor helped me take the concepts I was learning and figure out exactly how I can put them into practice.  It was very beneficial to have other people's perspectives.”  
Rachel Pagliarulo, General Star

“The Richardson SkillGaugeTM assessment test was a very humbling yet positive experience. It is good to look in the mirror through the lens of your team and learn their perception of you as a coach. This class provided that input in addition to providing the tools on how to achieve more effective coaching sessions with your team to get improved results!” 
Barbara Winsky, Russell Bond

Schedule of Events

Monday, November 1
11:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. ET
10:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. CT
9:00 a.m. - 1:30  p.m. MT
8:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT

Tuesday, November 2
No class

Wednesday, November 3
11:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. ET
10:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. CT
9:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. MT
8:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT

Effective Coaching Cancellation Policy

  • Registrants can receive a full refund, less a $50 fee for processing, if the request is made by September 20. 
  • Registrants can receive a 50% refund between September 21 and October 4.
  • No refund is offered after October 4.
  • Should you cancel, you will have a limited time opportunity to substitute someone else at your firm as an alternative to the above refund policy. 
  • All requests must be made in writing to Lindsay Holland, [email protected].